BETA Banner

facebook twitter email

Modern Apprenticeships Educational Component

The education stage, as specified in the modern apprenticeship framework document, will provide an opportunity for the acquisition of knowledge which is occupationally relevant, and enable the candidate to progress the job role within the employing company.

The education stage will normally take place at a suitable further education college, over a two year period of part-time study on an occupationally relevant course agreed between the candidate and the employing company. The content of the education stage shall be specified for each pathway as an SQA National Certificate or Higher National Certificate course and should prepare the apprentice for the intended job role within the employing company.

The content will be in accordance with the SQA group award structure and will cover one of the following group awards from Scottish Qualifications Authority:

  1. Electrical
  2. Electronic
  3. Engineering
  4. Welding and Fabrication.
Within each of these qualification the apprentice will study:
  • Common Core credits
  • Principles & Technology credits
  • Optional Principles & Technology credits
  • Other Optional credits

A minimum total of 12 credits/units

The planned outcome from the education stage will be the achievement of a SQA group award at either National (SCQF 5/6) or Higher National Certificate level (SCQF 7).